Cool smooth words,
Echoing, repeating.
My resistance blurs,
Triumphing, defeating.
Low, deep hums,
Rhythmically beating.
My heart in my chest,
Fading and fleeting…
Puffed up from pride,
Solemnly cheating.
Tears always hide,
Impressing, so meeting.
Discretely, indifferently,
Intently heating.
Wordless arguments,
Endlessly conceiting.
Low, mellow sounds,
Mindlessly deleting.
Sympathy and arrogance,
Apathetically treating.

My dissonance,
Your disregard.
My absences,
Have made this hard.
Broken promises,
Left us scarred.
But too afraid to admit,
Our minds were jarred.

Impatient.
Arrogance.
Leave it be.
At a glance.
In it’s place…
In a trance.

Freedom,
By the quiet sound.
Dark shadows hover,
Pressed against the ground.

About Robin Elizabeth

My name is Robin Elizabeth and I'm 25. I do not create with my own ability, but with the gift God has given me.

18 responses »

  1. Jingle says:

    cute poem…
    love the word flow and the whole plot behind it.
    Happy Wednesday!

  2. Carl says:

    Enjoyed it the flow, especially toward the end where it seemed anxious and then slowed nicely. I enjoyed the way the theme was handled.

  3. I agree with Carl–the flow played in nicely to the topic…you draw the reader right along with you.

    One Shot Wednesday–Monotone

  4. I like the word flow, too. There’s a nice beat to it, plus the words themselves are intriguing.

  5. Alethea says:

    Great theme…loved the flow and the selection of words!!

  6. jargnar says:

    Theres a calm in this one 🙂
    awesome

  7. Jingle says:

    welcome in….
    have fun visiting!

    elegant read…

  8. Sumit Sarkar says:

    This is damn good…
    Nice beats and I love your imagination so much 🙂

  9. bward42 says:

    Love the rhythm here! Really great poem!

  10. Injoyed the word flow and a real calm.
    Nicely written.

  11. beautiful flowing poetry. loved esp. the penultimate verse 🙂

    Here is my Rally Poem

  12. Sam373 says:

    A beautifully shared piece of that you feel.

  13. Bodhirose says:

    Calmness on the outside maybe but I felt some heated seething going on inside. Wonderful!

  14. hindawy says:

    Good one Robin

    Keep it up

    Mine

    Type Away

  15. […] Write it: https://robinelizabeth58.wordpress.com/2010/11/30/calmness/ […]

  16. […] Write it: https://robinelizabeth58.wordpress.com/2010/11/30/calmness/ […]

Leave a comment