I thought this was a task
I could handle
with just my thoughts
and the internet.
I thought the people browsing
would care enough
to console me when I wanted
to cry myself to sleep at night.
Not a single person out there
could provide the consolation
that you could
if you were here.
But honestly
if I just knew that I could help you
then maybe I could handle
not seeing you every day–
every week, every month–
I don’t even know when I’ll see you again.
And I knew that going into this
but now I wonder what I was thinking…

I still think you’re worth it
I just wish it weren’t so difficult.

But then the best things are, aren’t they?

About Robin Elizabeth

My name is Robin Elizabeth and I'm 21. I do not create with my own ability, but with the gift God has given me.

Leave a Reply

