People are read like books-

some are open

while some are not-
         their pages are tightly pressed
         between the covers and
         shoved nicely on a shelf
         where they gather dust-
and while you try so earnestly
to see inside my pages-
   to pull me from my shelf
      I fumble to flip for you,
         to form letters into words

and show you my pages.

I can not convey to you
the words I wish I could
you do not understand my
         Chapter Five, because
      I have yet to show you
   Chapters Two through Four.

So perhaps to you
I seem shallow
because I barely show
more than my cover-
 I know you want
  to dive into my pages
   and see who I really am
    to be engulfed in the sea
     of thoughts that entangle
      and words that remain unspoken.
But here you remain
peering in, tugging at me
to come from my shelf
and I feel myself
 begin to tip
  from the edge
   of the shelf
    at your prompting
     but one question
      writes itself roughly
       where my pages left off-
        will you catch me
                                    as
                                      I
                                       fall
                                           for
                                               you?

About Robin Elizabeth

My name is Robin Elizabeth and I'm 21. I do not create with my own ability, but with the gift God has given me.

Leave a Reply

