When I am depressed
I am quick sand.
The more you try and pull me out
the more stuck I get.
The harder you try and help
the more resistance is met.
You try and save me
and I sink further in,
as long as you’re trying
you can never win.
You tell me I can make it,
I can do this if I try.
I scream in frustration
then ignore you and cry.
But if you just stand there
I’ll slowly sink to the end
where my pain and my sorrow
can no longer mend.
How can you help me
if helping sinks me down?
How can I smile
while I’m wearing this frown?
How can I escape myself
when I just keep holding your hand?

I know I can’t need you to rescue me each time,
at some point I have to learn to climb out,
I have to decide this myself or I’ll keep falling in,
I must learn not hold, but abandon my doubt.
For when I am depressed as sinking quick sand,
I must learn to refocus and find my Dry Land.

About Robin Elizabeth

My name is Robin Elizabeth and I'm 21. I do not create with my own ability, but with the gift God has given me.

Leave a Reply

