The world is a terrible place.
With misfortune and pain,
disappointment and heart break–
but we are what cause this.

Do you remember the innocence
I saw in your eyes?
The way you took life
as if it were your prize?
No one could stop you
from living your dream
and no one could tell you
your beliefs were too extreme.
When did you let go
of all the standards you’d set?
And where did you misplace
the values so adamantly, you held?
Did I miss the part,
where we all give up,
           we give in to the ways
                       we fought growing up?

I must have missed my cue,
the time set to throw all hopes
and expectations to the wind.
           does this really happen at “our age”?
I didn’t know we ever
                      ever had to give up.
And I never knew
                      we had to blend in to this world.

I remember who we were
                      where we started.
I remember the lines we drew
                      and I thought not in the sand.
Everything we said we would never
           ever do
                      no matter what
                                 no matter who said
                                            “everyone else is doing it.”

What happened?

About Robin Elizabeth

My name is Robin Elizabeth and I'm 21. I do not create with my own ability, but with the gift God has given me.

Leave a Reply

