I watched the sun set behind the trees.
You thought I wouldn’t notice your tears.
I put my hand close to yours.
You thought I wouldn’t understand your fears.
Rain started falling but I could still see some stars
and the rain puddles started acting like mirrors.
I know you thought that would make me forget
that you were still crying next to me
but you should know by now that never works.
The way you bashfully looked up to see
if I was still waiting for your answer
told me that there would never be.
I didn’t matter if I pressed the issue,
your lips were shut and shut they’d stay.
We could stay outside all night watching the stars.
Wait out here until the moon was gone and it was day.
But it must have been the stars that prompted you,
they’re what gave you the words to say.

About Robin Elizabeth

My name is Robin Elizabeth and I'm 21. I do not create with my own ability, but with the gift God has given me.

One response »

  1. Aya Wilson says:

    the room you left behind your poem is interesting to think about.

    profound poetry.

Leave a Reply

