It’s not the heart
that falls apart.
Not the pieces missing
that keep us reminiscing
but the pain that’s held inside
every promise broken and every word lied.
It’s not the heart
that falls apart-
it’s the person as a whole,
never reaching their goal-
settling for okay
and just to make it out alive.
Not looking for a better way
or reason to strive.
They say the heart is what breaks
but I say it only aches.
So when you feel like you’re dying
from every effort spent and all you’re time trying-
it’s not the heart
that falls apart,
but who the person says they are-
every bloodied bruise and battered scar.
It’s the things they say,
their lives from day to day-
not just the words on their lips
but the times their tongue slips.
They say it with their eyes
and say it with their lies,
every choice they make
and every promise they break.

I don’t want people to say
what she said and who she was
were totally different.
I want people to say
what she said is who she was-
and everything she said, she meant.

About Robin Elizabeth

My name is Robin Elizabeth and I'm 25. I do not create with my own ability, but with the gift God has given me.

Leave a comment