Things that feel so sure.
Uncertain once they’re spoken.
These feelings can’t keep coming.
This process must be broken.

Where am I supposed to go?
And what am I supposd to do?
I think I know but I’m not sure.
All that’s in me tells me to seek You…

I don’t think I want to admit,
That I’ve been trying on my own.
I’m afraid my best isn’t good enough,
Or my heart will turn to stone.

If all I do keeps slipping up,
Then why do You want me?
I’m so lost and incomplete,
Unsure of what You see.

My eyes are closing,
But I won’t let go.
I think I want to,
But I don’t know.

I can’t keep holding on,
To everything that’s holding me back.
I try to put up a fight,
But it’s everything that I lack.

If it’s as simple as giving up,
As simple as falling to my knees,
Then God, won’t You answer me,
Listen to my pleas?

You say You’re only waiting,
For me to honestly call out to You.
I swear that I’m trying,
But I’m not sure I control what I do.

I’m so lost in this world,
I need You to help me.
I’m so contained in this darkness,
I’ve forgotten how to see.

God, won’t You open my eyes,
Won’t You erase all my pain,
I know I’ll never deserve it,
All my efforts are vain.

But I’m done with my own,
And I want You to take me,
Erase what I’ve done,
And teach me to see.

About Robin Elizabeth

My name is Robin Elizabeth and I'm 21. I do not create with my own ability, but with the gift God has given me.

One response »

  1. Imagination says:

    Sometimes the process of erasing includes letting go of doubts and heavy feelings holding you back. And sometimes, for some people, letting go of doubts and heavy feelings and negative emotions works – sometimes it even works well – sometimes it even works best – in writing, in poetry, in art. Intense, personal, realistic, but also gratifying; I loved this poem. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

