I press myself to the floor,
The cold concrete against me.
I’m far too broken and sore,
To open my eyes and see.

Words slip from my lips,
Tightening my eyes ever so,
My heart gives and slips,
I’m praying you won’t let go.

We’ve been here before,
Oh far too often for your taste,
I crave this more and more,
Though we both know it’s a waste.

Wasting time we could of spent,
Talking of things other than pain.
Places our words could of went,
But instead to this bloody stain.

Do you regret me for a moment,
If even for the slightest bit?
If you knew everything I meant,
And not just the feeling I emit…

Or do you know already?
For I’m sure I must have told.
I’m feeling so unsteady,
And my heart is growing cold…

Would you catch me if I fell?
It seems you’re always there to…
Though it’s hard for me to tell,
To find the words to say to you…

Dare I trust you with my heart?
You know how fragile it lies.
I quietly watch it fall apart,
Bloodied more from all my tries…

I know you’d catch me if I fell,
Or I must say when I’ll fall.
I know this feeling rather well,
And as I build, you’re tearing down my wall.

Trusting you I feel so naive,
It’s not your fault I’m afraid here,
I push but you won’t leave,
As I can’t, push away my fear.

I know you say you love me,
And I know that I love you…
But I’m too confused to see,
If what you say is true.

And I’m most afraid to hurt you,
With my trusting disbelief,
Because I’m unsure what to do,
I just want to feel relief.

Up against this cold hard floor,
I’m lost with what to do,
Now as I feel so ever sore,
My lips slip out the words “I love you.”

About Robin Elizabeth

My name is Robin Elizabeth and I'm 21. I do not create with my own ability, but with the gift God has given me.

9 responses »

  1. fiveloaf says:

    a poets poem- really nicely put!

  2. Jingle says:

    hot and real,
    lovely love poem.

  3. signed .............bkm says:

    you can read the distrust in every line which i believe was your goal…it is heartbreaking when we love and want to trust so badly but fear overtakes us…nice to meet you at the potluck…bkm

  4. Eric says:

    So fragile. Very nice piece for the Potluck, Robin.

  5. Luke Prater says:

    Enjoyed. Nice blog all round, I’d say

    regards

    Luke @ WordSalad

    (mine are here –
    To Ashes: http://wp.me/pTeVg-ca
    Let Me: http://wp.me/pTeVg-bW
    Indigenous: http://wp.me/pTeVg-bK

  6. Very nice, it tells a story. Thanks for posting.

  7. Papo says:

    this hit me on all angles, i loved it

    “I know you say you love me,
    And I know that I love you…
    But I’m too confused to see,
    If what you say is true.”

  8. a story in verse..! 🙂 lovely one..

    My Potluck Is Here.

  9. I am so excited to be here for this potluck piece! Such a poetic style…all your own yet i relate to your style..and what a love poem this is! I look forward to reading more of your blog…I dig it so far!

    http://itslovelyannie.com/2010/10/24/crush/

Leave a Reply

