Have you ever wondered,
What things would look like,
If we actually opened our eyes?
Have you ever thought about,
What life could be like,
If we were honest with our tries?

Because I’m honestly sick,
Of being told I’m not enough,
It makes it hard to realize that’s not true.
And I’m honestly annoyed with,
Being shown what I should be like,
Because I don’t do things the way they do.

Maybe if we stopped pushing,
If we stopped lying about ourselves,
We’d all be able to be ourselves without guilt.
Maybe if we stopped insulting,
If we stopped abusing words,
People’s courage wouldn’t be torn but rather built.

Have you ever wondered,
What people would feel like,
If we were loving one another regardless?
Have you ever wondered,
What acceptance could feel like,
If we were at least a little bit selfless?

I’m sick of these lies.
These walls we all have built.
So that no one can see who we really are.
Because these lies,
And these walls we have built,
Will keep us dead and never getting very far.

About Robin Elizabeth

My name is Robin Elizabeth and I'm 21. I do not create with my own ability, but with the gift God has given me.

21 responses »

  1. 2zpoint says:

    I do not play well with mean people, as my very long list of practical jokes will conclude, but I can tell you what I have learned to get me through. I look at life like a game if I don’t like the game that others are playing with me I simply change the game to suite me. For instance if some one tells me that I can not do what they do… or are doing I merely reply well that’s okay you can’t do this and if you could you probably wouldn’t be very good at it and walk away before they have a chance to argue…before you know it they have abandoned their game and taken up mine of which I am usually better ( if not better than them …better than I am at their game.) Just a thought.Have an amazing rest of the day P.S.practical jokes are fun too!

  2. alienhippy says:

    I have read a lot of your poem this morning, I know God lead me to you. Because reading is extremely hard for me. I can only usually manage a few lines of a poem before my Aspergers questioning causes confusion.
    I am dyslexic, I also have Aspergers and mild ADHD.
    God uses these disabilities as a blessing now, it has not always been easy for me but God has got me through. My dyslexia is a filter, it only allows me to read what God wants me to. What is strengthening for my spirit or needed by another.
    Your poetry is very connected to you I can see this, God loves you so completely and accepts you lovingly just as you are. His beautiful and precious child, fearfully and wonderfully made in His image.
    I have left you quite a few comments on undead poets. I have subscribed to your blog and I am now going back to mine to add you to my blogroll.
    You will be in my prayers.
    Love, peace, blessing and {{{hugs}}} to you. xxx

    • I appreciate your comments(:
      A lot of people will say that the problems in their life stop there; they are only problems.
      But it seems, by what you’ve said, you’ve learned to see this differently.
      “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him…” Romans 8:28A
      God bless(:

  3. trisha says:

    this is a very beautiful poem. no one has the right to make other’s push around in name of love or relationship.

    visiting you from jingle’s TRP (Thursday Rally 4 Poets).

  4. Jingle says:

    welcome in,
    being sick of lies is okay,
    well put.
    powerful flow.

  5. hindawy says:

    Jusrt be yourself 😉

    Still tryin but I’m gettin there 😉

    My entry for week 31

    http://hindawy.wordpress.com/2010/10/20/the-other-side-of-the-sun/

  6. Jingle says:

    Happy Rally.
    🙂
    😉

  7. B says:

    No one knows us better than ourselves.
    We dont need to push hard enough to get on with what the world wants to see from us.
    But still, some people likes pretentions.
    But who are they kidding right?

    This poem speaks a lot.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Kudos!

    Love lots,
    B

    BTW, here’s my entry for this week.
    Hope you like it too!

    MOVING ON AND LETTING GO

    HAPPY RALLY!

  8. This is an wonderful entry.. Truly enjoyed.. Loved it..

    An Ode to Friendship

    Happy Rally

    –Someone Is Special–

  9. xacrest says:

    An honest, direct approach to life. I like. You’ve got a catchy rhythm in your repetition that brings familiarity while introducing the next idea. I especially liked: Have you ever wondered/ What acceptance could feel like/ If we were at least a little bit selfless?
    Great job, very motivating!

  10. you know a good way to get to that point in life where you can live like that is easily done by two things (and i swear this is what i do)

    1. Pretend that everything I said and do is information that anyone can know at any given time
    e.g. Everything I saw is do is public info

    2. Don’t give a shit about people actually think

    the second one is really easy when you realize that more shit comes out of other peoples mouth that the amount that comes out of their ass.

    =] WONDERFUL ENTRY BTW lol

  11. yuuki-chan says:

    We and our endless masks. A foolish masquerade.

    Don’t dwell too much on what other people think. The world is a free place 🙂

    Darkly:
    http://sugaryichigo.wordpress.com/2010/06/25/darkly/

  12. Lu Ann says:

    Yes, I´ve wondered… and I´ve imagined and I´ve been excited only to feel disappointed and then cry so hard until falling asleep…

    So I think I know what you´re talking about.

    Blessings.

    Lu Ann

  13. deadpoet88 says:

    Very deep and profound words, and you very right. I often wish we could be ourselves rather than hiding behind a veil. Why hide ourselves anyways? Why is it wrong to be truthful and innocent? Great poem!

  14. Kick Out The Jams says:

    Hi there, thanks for the comments on my submission. You’ve really hit the nail on the head with the way most of us walk around unseeing, not connecting with the world in any real way. Lovely poem…

  15. -D says:

    true.but we are so caught up with what we think are important without really understanding why we ever thought they are important.

  16. Sam373 says:

    I have wandered and it’s good someone else is wondering as well.

Leave a Reply

