It’s as if I’ve lost the words,
To the song I’ve known for my whole life.
It’s as if I’ve lost the page,
In the story I read almost every night.
It’s as if I can not open my eyes,
Yet I never closed them in the first place.
It’s as if I’m slowly dying,
But I’m still promising I’m perfectly alright.

You know me better than I wish you did,
For when I lie and say I’m fine you know I’m not.
It’s not the matter of my pain that makes it worse,
But the matter of the things I wish I’d never thought.

You know I could never imagine the way you feel,
And to think that the words you’re expressing are aimed at me.
What could I possibly have done to let this happen?
I’m not even sure of the things that you say, in me, you see.

It’s as if I’ve died a thousand deaths,
Yet I’ve lived and fought without as much as the scent.
It’s as if I’ve lost every single time,
Yet I’ve won more battles than anyone could ever dream to.
It’s as if I started slowly to fall,
But could not fall if even I were on top of the world.
It’s as if I start to fade into the night…
But I can not fade without whispering in your ear, “I love you.”

About Robin Elizabeth

My name is Robin Elizabeth and I'm 21. I do not create with my own ability, but with the gift God has given me.

One response »

  1. Jingle says:

    love as if phrase..
    beautiful piece.

Leave a Reply

