I close my eyes as the sun sets behind the trees.
Not enough yet to force me to my knees,
But enough to leave me crying on the floor,
Face down and feeling sore.

I let the silent whispers of the night run over me.
Telling me exactly what to hear, to feel and see.
I start to stop the flow of tears as if I could,
But now they pour; misunderstood.

I lie too still as the images of the night consume me.
I never know when to stop; I never know what they’ll be.
Just wanting to wake up won’t get me anywhere.
But I’m far too tired to try; to care.

I open my eyes as the sunrises and lets me see.
I don’t think lately that I’ve really been me.
But I’m praying, God, that you will take,
Everything I am, and me, remake.

About Robin Elizabeth

My name is Robin Elizabeth and I'm 21. I do not create with my own ability, but with the gift God has given me.

Leave a Reply

